Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Antequam... la généalogie !
Antequam... la généalogie !
  • La généalogie vue autrement... Antequam, Christiane MENOT, est une généalogiste familiale professionnelle qui n'oublie pas ses trente années d'expérience en tant que généalogiste amateur...!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Newsletter
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 227 339
13 février 2022

52 Ancestors 52 weeks : maps, ...

Version française à lire ou à relire

But what kind of map? I am thinking about a map that could position, geographically, all the members of my large genealogical family, Mayvka !...

I work with the Geneatic software and I find that the rendering does not meet my expectations. I found only two options: the display by surname – only one, or by location – again only one. In addition, the presentation is done thanks to Google Earth and I do not have the time – or the will – to learn how to use this last tool.

Geneatique

I asked a colleague what the display under Heredis gave. I would almost say "a little better", but the display is not terrible either...

Heredis

 So I searched, searched and searched again... I found a solution, very time-consuming but I am satisfied with what I will get in the long term: my own presentation!

Umap 3

 The UmapOpenstreet site allows you to create your own maps. Admittedly, they remain in the public domain and therefore limit the extent of the information we could bring to genealogy. However, the general view of the entire "genealogical family" is visible from the display on the screen. So I created Famille généalogique – Mayvka map.

Umap 2

From this beginning of seizure I can already make many observations on my way of looking for my family ancestors ...

1 – I did the snail around the town of my ancestor Nicolas MENOT to find either a marriage or a birth. Archival documents being almost non-existent for this municipality, it is a long-term work ... 

Umap 1

2 – I also notice that I focused on a single research department: Aisne. I justify this research by the fact that my paternal grandparents, the only ones I really knew, are from this department, and their ancestors also from elsewhere... I am, on this side of my origins, a pure "Axonaise", so "Picarde".

3 – I still have a lot of hours to go to enter all my data – 51261 ancestors in this big family, but all the "members" descended from this big family can consult the progress of my work and therefore know their origins, from any computer station anywhere in the world.

To see what makes the beginning of my seizure, I confirm that we are all cousins...

Publicité
Commentaires
Archives
Publicité
Publicité